| Pays for | Buying or building land for public outdoor recreation — parks, trails, playgrounds, boat and beach access. |
| Who | Counties, cities, towns and special districts that run public recreation sites. |
| How much | Up to $200,000 per request. |
| Local share | Depends on project size (see the application guide). |
Due 5:00 p.m. EDT, through the DEP Grantee Portal only (Google Chrome required). This cycle funds FY2027-28 and depends on the Legislature’s budget.
| Pays for | Starting or improving a drug or treatment court. |
| Who | Counties, cities, states, tribes. |
| How much | Up to $950,000 to start one; up to $1,025,750 to improve one. |
| Local share | 25% |
A first step on Grants.gov is due Oct 30, 2026.
Brevard County already moves large state and federal grants through its budget. Here is what fits the needs this site has documented — and what to know before counting on it.
Not available here:
What’s already coming in:
Help writing them:
| Pays for | Buying or building land for public outdoor recreation — parks, trails, playgrounds, boat and beach access. |
| Who | Counties, cities, towns and special districts that run public recreation sites. |
| How much | Up to $200,000 per request. |
| Local share | Depends on project size (see the application guide). |
Due 5:00 p.m. EDT, through the DEP Grantee Portal only (Google Chrome required). This cycle funds FY2027-28 and depends on the Legislature’s budget.
| Pays for | Projects that protect critical assets from flooding and sea level rise, and the vulnerability studies that come first. |
| Who | Counties, cities and towns, certain special districts, and regional resilience groups. Implementation projects require a finished vulnerability assessment. |
| How much | Not stated on the program page. |
| Local share | Not stated on the program page. |
The 2026 portal was open July 1 – September 1, 2026. Watch for the 2027 cycle.
| Pays for | Channel dredging, boat ramps, shoreline stabilization, fishing piers, waterway education, boating safety. |
| Who | Cities, counties, port authorities and special taxing districts in the District’s 12 counties, including Brevard. |
| How much | About $10–12 million a year across the District; capped at 90% of the FIND tax the county pays. |
| Local share | FIND pays up to 75% for public navigation projects and up to 50% for other projects. |
Applications open in January and are due by the end of March; awards are announced in October.
| Pays for | Boat ramps, docks, moorings, channel markers and boating education. |
| Who | Counties, cities and other government bodies. |
| How much | Not stated on the program page. |
| Local share | Not stated on the program page. |
“The next application period will be announced in 2027.”
| Pays for | Projects that lower damage from future disasters — drainage, flood protection, stronger buildings. |
| Who | State agencies, local governments and tribes, through the state. |
| How much | Nationally competitive. |
| Local share | Federal share up to 75%; up to 90% for small, impoverished communities. |
Notices of interest were due August 14, 2026.
| Pays for | Public buildings and equipment. Its list includes police stations, prisons, fire departments and fire trucks — and community gardens, food pantries, community kitchens, food banks, and greenhouses. |
| Who | Counties, cities, nonprofits, and tribes, for places of 20,000 people or fewer. |
| How much | Loans up to 40 years; grants of 15% to 75% of the cost, depending on the community’s size and income. |
| Local share | Depends on the grant share |
| Pays for | Starting or improving a drug or treatment court. |
| Who | Counties, cities, states, tribes. |
| How much | Up to $950,000 to start one; up to $1,025,750 to improve one. |
| Local share | 25% |
A first step on Grants.gov is due Oct 30, 2026.
| Pays for | Treatment and recovery, including treatment inside jails and at release. |
| Who | Counties, cities, states, tribes; rural counties have their own category. |
| How much | Up to $1,000,000 over three years for a rural local government. |
| Local share | None |
The 2026 round closed in September. Watch for the 2027 round.
| Pays for | Low-interest loans for water and sewer projects; part of some loans is forgiven. Includes separate money for lead pipes and for “forever chemicals” (PFAS). |
| Who | Public water and sewer systems. |
| How much | Set by the state. |
| Local share | Loan |
Each state keeps its own priority list and dates.
| Pays for | Drinking water, sewer, solid waste, and storm drainage. |
| Who | Rural areas and towns of 10,000 people or fewer. |
| How much | Long-term, low-interest loans; grants when funds allow. |
| Local share | Loan |
| Pays for | Large water and sewer projects. |
| Who | Public systems; small communities (25,000 or fewer) get easier terms. |
| How much | Small-community projects of $5 million or more; up to 80% of the cost. |
| Local share | Loan |
| Pays for | Road, bridge, and other surface transportation projects, and planning. |
| Who | Counties, cities, tribes. |
| How much | Rural projects from $1 million to $25 million. |
| Local share | Rural projects can be paid up to 100% by the federal share |
The 2026 round closed in February. Watch for the next notice.
| Pays for | Road-safety action plans and safety projects. |
| Who | Counties, cities, tribes. |
| How much | Planning grants of $100,000 to $5 million. |
| Local share | 20% |
The 2026 round closed in May; the agency says about $1 billion remains for the next round.
| Pays for | Equipment, protective gear, training, and vehicles — paid straight to fire departments, including volunteer departments. |
| Who | Fire departments and EMS organizations. |
| How much | Up to $1 million for departments serving 100,000 people or fewer. |
| Local share | 5% for places of 20,000 or fewer |
The last window ran May 19 – June 22, 2026. Opens about once a year.
| Pays for | Pays a nonprofit to guide groups of families who build each other’s homes; the families do most of the labor. |
| Who | Nonprofits and public bodies. |
| How much | Set case by case. |
| Local share | None listed |
| Pays for | Low-interest home loans for low-income rural families; repair loans to $40,000 at 1%, and repair grants to $10,000 for very-low-income owners 62 and older. |
| Who | Families apply directly. |
| How much | See the program page. |
| Local share | None |
| Pays for | Infrastructure that supports jobs. |
| Who | Counties, cities, nonprofits, and others. |
| How much | $100,000 to $30 million. |
| Local share | Required |
The honest limits:
Related: The budget · Commonwealth · The docket. This page lists programs; whether to apply is for the county, its cities, and their residents to decide. Spot an error or a program we missed? Tell us.